Diocese of Chichester

The Order of St Richard awards

Bishop Martin welcomed 39 laypeople to the Order of St Richard at a special service in Chichester Cathedral on Saturday. The annual awards are presented by the bishop to lay people across Sussex who has been nominated for their exceptional service to the local church, parish, and community.

On 8 oct 2021

In Diocese of Chichester

By communications

The nominations are made by parish priests across the Diocese and those selected are then invited to the Cathedral for a time of celebration, reflection, and celebration.

Bishop Martin launched the scheme in 2019 as a way of recognising the enormous contribution of so many lay people in a variety of ministries across the Diocese.

Last year's event had to be postponed because of the pandemic and so this years’ service has added poignancy.

Here is a full list of those who received their awards:

Brighton Archdeaconry

Patricia Anderson: St Wulfran’s Ovingdean

John Baker: St Leonards Seaford

Kaye Inglis: Kemp Town St Mary

Ian Gibson: St Andrew’s Hove

Kate Steer: St Lukes Sutton

Christopher Tullett: St Bartholomew’s Brighton

Ian Vaughan: St Mary de Haura – Shoreham

Chichester Archdeaconry

Wendy Goacher: Singleton & W & E Dean

John Godfrey: St Mary the Virgin Felpham

Robert Leeder: St Shephens North Mundham

Graham Pound: St Mary the Virgin Apuldram

Susan Pratt: St Andrews Ferring

Vera Saunders: Aldingbourne, Barnham and Eastergate

Richard Thompson: St Marys/St Peters Sompting

David Tinsley: The Octagon Parish

Ian Tout: St Michael & All Angels Lancing

Jane Wilkinson: St John the Baptist Westbourne

Elizabeth Woodford: Lavant

Hastings Archdeaconry

Lynne Clayton: St Helens Ore

Helen Hart: St Richards Langney Eastbourne

Chester Holland: Christ Church Eastbourne

Jenny Liverton: St Giles Bodiam

John Mercer: St Johns Hollington

Valerie Mighall: St Georges Crowhurst

Margaret Neve: St Dunstans Mayfield & Five Ashes

Patricia Roberts: St Marys Battle

James Colin Rogers: St Denys Rotherfield

Laura Woods: St Michaels Horsted

Horsham Archdeaconry

Joyce Brown: St Marys Horsham

Paul Charman: The Beacon Ditchling

Brian Cutler: Holy Trinity Cuckfield

Margaret Dale: St Peters Ardingly

Bill Fish: St Margarets West Hoathley

Jeremy Kaye: St Swithin East Grinstead

Barry Laker: Thakeham

Katharine Minchin: St Mary’s Easebourne

Deborah Martin: St Augustine Scaynes Hill

Douglas Parkes: Sullington

Angela Tugwell: St Andrews Burgess Hill