Diocese of Chichester

Churchwardens are elected annually under the provisions of the Churchwardens Measure 2001 by the Annual Meeting of Parishioners, as the senior laypeople of the parish and congregation. Their term of office is one year, and they may serve for up to six consecutive terms of office, unless the Annual Meeting passes a resolution to set aside this rule. They are the Bishop’s officers, and are admitted to office each year by the Archdeacon, on behalf of the Bishop. 

Latest issue of Archdeacon's News for 2024 can be found here

Planned Visitation dates for your diary:
Brighton & Lewes Archdeaconry Date
St Mary’s, Barcombe 3rd July 2024 at 19h00
St Leonards, Hove 9th July 2024 at 19h00
Chichester Archdeaconry Date
St John the Divine, West Worthing 20th June 2024 at 19h30
St Mary, West Chiltington 29th June 2024 at 15h00
St Mary, Easebourne 11st July 2024 at 19h00
St George, Whyke, Chichester 13th July 2024 at 15h00
Hastings Archdeaconry Date
St Mary’s, Battle 18th June 2024 at 19h00
All Saints, Crowborough 26th June 2024 at 19h00
St John the Evangelist, Upper St Leonards 17th July 2024 at 19h00
Horsham Archdeaconry Date
St Mary, Billingshurst 19th June 2024 at 19h00
St Andrew’s, Furnace Green 2nd July 2024 at 19h00

Related Resources