Diocese of Chichester

Award ceremony to go ahead

The Bishop of Chichester, Dr Martin Warner, is pleased to announce an award ceremony that will now go ahead for The Order of St Richard, at which lay people from within the diocese are recognised for their exceptional contributions to the parish, the local community or the Diocese.

On 7 sep 2021

In Diocese of Chichester

By communications

The initiative was launched in October 2019 when 40 people received the award in the Cathedral. Sadly, the pandemic meant plans for the ceremony in 2020 had to be cancelled.

Nominations are sent in from Anglican parishes across Sussex to the Nominations’ Panel (6 people in all chaired by Mrs Sara Stonor DL) The Panel’s recommended nominees then go to Bishop Martin for approval.

Bishop Matin said: ‘I am delighted to announce the names of those from across the Diocese this year who will receive the Order of St Richard. This award is made in recognition of the outstanding and distinguished service the awardees have made to the Diocese, their parishes and to their local communities.’

The 39 lay people recognised this year will receive the award at a ceremony in the Cathedral on 9 October 2021 at 3pm in the context of Choral Evensong.

The awardees are:

Brighton Archdeaconry

Patricia Anderson: St Wulfran’s Ovingdean

John Baker: St Leonards Seaford

Kaye Inglis: Kemp Town St Mary

Ian Gibson: St Andrew’s Hove

Kate Steer: St Lukes Sutton

Christopher Tullett: St Bartholomew’s Brighton

Ian Vaughan: St Mary de Haura – Shoreham

Chichester Archdeaconry

Wendy Goacher: Singleton & W & E Dean

John Godfrey: St Mary the Virgin Felpham

Robert Leeder: St Shephens North Mundham

Graham Pound: St Mary the Virgin Apuldram

Susan Pratt: St Andrews Ferring

Vera Saunders: Aldingbourne, Barnham and Eastergate

Richard Thompson: St Marys/St Peters Sompting

David Tinsley: The Octagon Parish

Ian Tout: St Michael & All Angels Lancing

Jane Wilkinson: St John the Baptist Westbourne

Elizabeth Woodford: Lavant

Hastings Archdeaconry

Lynne Clayton: St Helens Ore

Helen Hart: St Richards Langney Eastbourne

Chester Holland: Christ Church Eastbourne

Jenny Liverton: St Giles Bodiam

John Mercer: St Johns Hollington

Valerie Mighall: St Georges Crowhurst

Margaret Neve: St Dunstans Mayfield & Five Ashes

Patricia Roberts: St Marys Battle

James Colin Rogers: St Denys Rotherfield

Laura Woods: St Michaels Horsted

Horsham Archdeaconry

Joyce Brown: St Marys Horsham

Paul Charman: The Beacon Ditchling

Brian Cutler: Holy Trinity Cuckfield

Margaret Dale: St Peters Ardingly

Bill Fish: St Margarets West Hoathley

Jeremy Kaye: St Swithin East Grinstead

Barry Laker: Thakeham

Katharine Minchin: St Mary’s Easebourne

Deborah Martin: St Augustine Scaynes Hill

Douglas Parkes: Sullington

Angela Tugwell: St Andrews Burgess Hill