Diocese of Chichester

Cathedral Welcomes Commissioning of New Lay Ministers

On 7 jan 2020

In Diocese of Chichester

By Diocese of Chichester

Fifty eight people from across Sussex were commissioned as lay ministers, by the Bishop of Chichester Dr Martin Warner, at a special service in Chichester Cathedral on Saturday 11 January, the second year the event has been held.

The individuals, from Anglican churches in the Diocese of Chichester, will now form the largest group ever to be recognised for the completion of their studies - the culmination of skills-based training for Authorised Lay Ministry (ALM).

Authorised Lay Ministers share in the public ministry of the local church, as they serve their local parishes.

The Revd Jayne Prestwood, Officer for Lay Vocation and Ministry, runs the lay ministry training programme. She said: “It is wonderful to mark the start of the Year by commissioning the Authorised Lay Ministers. This is our biggest group to date. Last year was our Year of Vocation and I am sure that this has had a big influence on the increase of numbers for this cohort.

“Authorised Lay Ministry is now recognised across the Church of England as a vibrant and growing expression of lay ministry. I am delighted that we will be expanding our ALM training programme further to provide flexible and affordable skills-based training in a variety of different ministries.”

You can read the Bishop of Chichester's sermon here

You can find out more about training for Authorised Lay Ministry from the Diocese of Chichester website here: https://www.chichester.anglican.org/Authorised-Lay...

We offer our prayers for all those commissioned and the parishes in which they serve. Those commissioned were:

ALM Candidates January 2020

Community Elective

Patricia Bailey - St Mary’s Church, Newick

Maria Brett - St Augustine’s Scaynes Hill

Jill Costello – The Ascension Haywards Heath

Pam Edwards – The Ascension Haywards Heath

Diana Green - Clymping, Yapton & Ford Benefice

Karen Kelso -St Margaret’s Church, Ifield

Sarah-Frances Magrath - Gossops Green & Bewbush

Helen Morris - Singleton, West Dean, East Dean

Ruth Parnell - Chanctonbury Churches,

Gillian Reville - All Saints Hellingly, Herstmonceux

Glen Russell - Christ Church, Ore, Hastings

Family elective

Louise Clark - St Peter’s Church Henfield

Caroline Formby - St Barnabas, Worth Parish

Jane Hart -Christ Church & St Mary Magdalen, and St Peter & St Paul – St Leonard’s

Ruth Hine - St Ethelburga, St Leonards on Sea

Philip Morris - St John’s Crowborough

Helen Swift - Holy Trinity Church,Cuckfield

Susan Weston - Kirdford with Plaistow

Pastoral Elective

Irene Adams - Findon, Clapham and Patching

Hilary Cannings - St Nicholas East and West Saltdean

Morag Davies - St Mary’s Parish Church, Horsham

Margaret Elkin - St Peter & St Paul Chichester

Kelly Ellis - The Cuckmere Benefice

Alison Evans - St Mary’s, Goring by Sea

Jacqueline Harwood - St James the Less Lancing

Kathryn James - St Peter’s Ardingly

Susan Laker - St Peter’s Ardingly

Judy Short -Church of the Good Shepherd, Shoreham

Preaching elective

Sarah Adams - St John the Evangelist, Southbourne

Sue Adams - St Matthias, Preston, Brighton

Jane Bellinger - All Saints Colgate & Roffey

Sandra Bentall - Old Town Parish St Clement & All Saints

Natalie Broomfield-Hill - Old Town Parish, Hastings

Jonathan Berry - Holy Trinity Cuckfield

Susan Crossfield - St John the Evangelist, Preston, Brighton

Simon Eyre - St Elizabeth’s Eastbourne

Martin Fair - St John the Evangelist, Southbourne

Alan Freeman - St Matthews, St Leonard’s on sea

Colin Frampton – Chanctonbury churches

Harry Goring -Chanctonbury Churches

Malcolm Harris - St Matthew, St Leonards-on-Sea

Charles Jardine - All Saints Herstmonceux

Clare Lyttle - St Ethleburga’s Church, St Leonards

John Lyttle - St Ethleburga’s Church St Leonards

Mandy Mulford - St Elisabeth’s, Eastbourne

Judith Murray- St. Nicholas of Myra, Brighton and High Hurstwood

Philippa Pearson-Miles-Chanctonbury Churches

Brenda Pegman -St Ethleburga’s Church, St Leonards

Tracey Perkins - St Ethelburga’s Church, St Leonards

Mark Ralf - West Wittering and Birdham with Itchenor

Graham Reid - United Benefice of St Mary’s Slaugham and St Mark’s Staplefield

John Shepherd - Heathfield Benefice

Stephen Simmons - St Wilfrid’s Eastbourne

Holly Stevenson - St Barnabas, Bexhill-on-Sea

Glenn Turner - All Saints Colgate & Roffey

David Whitehead- Thakeham with Wakinghurst

Lesley Worsley - St Ethelburga’s Church, St Leonards