Diocese of ChichesterDiocese of Chichester

Page title here

The Diocese of Chichester

For a full list of parishes and churches in the diocese, click here.


In this Diocese the deaneries have ancient names, after some of the oldest parishes. Churches were established in various parts of the diocese between the seventh century (Chichester) and the thirteenth (Dallington, Eastbourne).


The Diocesan Database provides access to further information on Clergy, PCC officers, and other people working around the Diocese.

The Bishop of Chichester, as diocesan bishop, has overall oversight of the whole diocese but also delegates authority to the Bishops of Horsham and Lewes.

The Archdeacon of Chichester is responsible for the coastal region of West Sussex; the Archdeacon of Horsham for the rest of that county; The Archdeacon of Brighton and Lewes is responsible for Brighton, Hove and Lewes & Seaford deaneries and the Archdeacon of Hastings for the remaining deaneries in East Sussex.