Diocese of ChichesterDiocese of Chichester

Thirty Seven lay ministers commissioned

Thirty Seven lay ministers commissioned

Thirty-seven people from across Sussex were commissioned at a special service in Chichester Cathedral on Sunday 13 January, the first time the event has been held.

The candidates, from Anglican churches in the diocese of Chichester, will now form the largest group ever to be recognised for the completion of their studies - the culmination of skills-based training for Authorised Lay Ministry (ALM).

Authorised Lay Ministers share in the public ministry of the local church, as they serve their local parishes.

The Revd Jayne Prestwood, Officer for Lay Vocation and Ministry, runs the lay ministry training programme. She said: “It was a wonderful service which sees the culmination of their studies and the start of their public ministry. Please pray for them as they return to their parishes newly equipped in either pastoral care or children's work".

“Authorised Lay Ministry is now recognised across the Church of England as a vibrant and growing expression of lay ministry. I am delighted that we will be expanding our ALM training programme in 2019 to provide flexible and affordable skills-based training in a variety of different ministries.”

You can find out more about training for Authorised Lay Ministry from the Diocese of Chichester website here: https://www.chichester.anglican.org/Authorised-La...

Those commissioned were:

Ali Brown St Mary's Barcombe

Alison Evans St Michael and All Angels Eastbourne

Eileen Lintill St Mary the Virgin Petworth

Graham Compton St John the Baptist, Westfield

Jenne Taylor St John the Evangelist, Upper St Leonards

Marisa Hayes St Mary the Virgin Parish Church Ringmer

Penny (Penelope) Blanch St Margaret of Antioch, Isfield

Phil (Philippa) Parsons The Church of the Holy Cross, Parish of Woodingdean

Susan Weston Kirdford with Plaistow

Victoria Barton St Michael and All Angels Eastbourne

Anna Bouch St Luke’s, Prestonville, Brighton

Brian Millar Parish of Sutton with Seaford

Caterina Brown Aldingbourne, Barnham and Eastergate

David Jones Blacklands, Hastings

Dawn Archer St John the Baptist, Westfield

Debbie (Debra) Flint Arundel with Tortington

Den (Dennis) Mackey St Michael and All Angels, Lancing

Derek Moore Holy Innocents, Southwater

Elly McKay-Smith East Hoathly / United Benefice of Chiddingly with East Hoathly

Frances Flowerday All Saints, Patcham

Helen Summers St Nicholas Arundel

Ian Chisholm St John's, Meads

Jacqueline Marshall Broadwater Parish

James Askew United Benefice of Old Shoreham and Kingson Buci

Jeremy Archer St John the Baptist, Westfield

John Shepherd Heathfield Benefice

Joslyn Arnold Broadwater Parish

Maggie Courtnadge Aldingbourne, Barnham and Eastergate

Maggie Teager Benefice of Laughton, Ripe & Chalvington

Maggie Williams Parish of All Saints, Findon Valley

Maggie Gibson St John's, Meads

Margaret Kowszum St John's, Meads

Olive Ridge All Saints, Patcham

Sandra Bentall St Clement and All Saints Hastings

Sue (Susan) Howes St Mary the Virgin Parish Church Ringmer

Susan Santos St Elisabeth’s Eastbourne

Timothy Worley Arundel with Tortington

The Diocese of Chichester serves the two English counties of East and West Sussex and the new city of Brighton and Hove.