Diocese of Chichester

Order of St Richard Recognises Exceptional Contributions to Local Life

On 9 sep 2019

In Diocese of Chichester

By Diocese of Chichester

Forty people from every corner of the Diocese of Chichester will become the first to be admitted to the Order of St Richard by the Bishop of Chichester, Dr Martin Warner, at a ceremony in Chichester Cathedral on Saturday October 5 at 3pm.

The Order of St Richard has been established this year.

Each year membership will be awarded to forty lay people nominated by those in the local community who recognise the exceptional contribution they have made to their parish, deanery or the wider community.

Ten people will be nominated every year from each of the four archdeaconries which make up the Diocese - Horsham, Brighton and Lewes, Hastings and Chichester.

At the ceremony next month they will receive a certificate signed by the Bishop, a specially designed medal to be worn on special occasions and a lapel badge which can be worn at all times.

Writing to each of those nominated this year Dr Warner writes:

“This comes with my congratulations on the award, and my thanks for our partnership in the apostolic life in this diocese. “

A full list of recipients:

Brighton and Lewes

Jill Austin
Ken Bridger
Naume Chawulaka
Angela Maddison
Hilary Norsworthy
Philippa Parson
John Puttock
Muriel Pyne
George Rix
Gemma Sellance


John Bridger
Christine Field
Gill Kerney
Mike Lewis
Margaret Lumley
Rachel Moriarty
Mary Nagel
Diane Perle
Bradley Smith


Patsy Bailey
Eleanor Chapman
Heather Child
David Gasson
Ruth Gasson
Mary Hope
Pamela Kendall
David Payne
Michael Toynbee
Sarah Widdowson


Susan Ayres
Chris Bell
Elizabeth Brown
Melanie Edge
John Field
David Fitton
Olive Fleming
Frank King RIP
Mary King
Carol Shillingford