Diocese of ChichesterDiocese of Chichester

Page title here

Consistory Court

All change with the faculty jurisdiction in January 2016

Parochial clergy, churchwardens and inspecting architects are reminded of a raft of changes to the faculty jurisdiction which come into force on 1 January 2016.

First the Faculty Jurisdiction Rules 2015 come into effect. The substantive changes are comparatively few but the rules have been reordered and renumbered throughout. The most significant innovation is the creation of national lists of minor works which may be undertaken without a faculty. These replace former de mimimis provisions which varied from one diocese to another. List A comprised categories of work for which no permission is required, whereas List B works may only be undertaken with the prior written consent of the archdeacon. As before, the registrar should be consulted for guidance in individual cases.

The renumbering of the Faculty Jurisdiction Rules and the introduction of Lists A and B have necessitated a Fourth Issue of the Chancellor’s General Directions which also take effect on 1 January 2016. There are no other changes of substance in the Directions, and the Churchyard Regulations are unaltered.

Professor Mark Hill

Professor Mark Hill QC has been Chancellor of the Diocese of Chichester since September 2000. He is also Chancellor of Leeds and of Gibraltar in Europe as well as Deputy Chancellor of the Diocese of York.

The registrar is always happy to assist with queries concerning the faculty jurisdiction and the law and procedure of the consistory court. Please contact the registry clerk in the first instance: 

The Worshipful Mark Hill QC
Chancellor of the Diocese of Chichester

Related resources


The Chancellor of the Diocese
The Worshipful Mark Hill QC
Address: C/o The Registry

Deputy Diocesan Registrar:
Mr Darren Oliver
Minerva House,
5 Montague Close,
Telephone: 020 7593 5189
Email: doliver@wslaw.co.uk

Anne-Marie Organ