Diocese of ChichesterDiocese of Chichester

Page title here

Church Schools in the Diocese of Chichester

About the Education Department

The diocese has statutory responsibility for Church Schools. In the diocese there are 58 Voluntary Aided schools (including three secondary schools) and 97 Voluntary Controlled schools (including two secondary) and 2 Academies (including one secondary). In addition, one community school has signed a partnership agreement with the Diocese.

The Diocesan Board of Education includes members elected from each archdeaconry and co-opted representatives of the three LEAs covered by the diocese and of headteachers of church schools. Its chairman is the Bishop of Chichester .

The purpose of the Chichester Diocesan Board of Education is to support the work of all those involved in education within the Diocese, developing and strengthening its Church Schools and Academies to serve their communities in the name of Christ, equipping them to strive for excellence in all things as they demonstrate an authentic experience of Christian community.

Diocesan Director of Education: Ann Holt OBE
Education Officers: Rosemary Black, Ruth Cumming and Martin Lloyd
Education Buildings Officer: Sally Collins
Education Governance Officers:   Admissions Cathy Slow
                                                       Foundation Governors Vanessa Vollebregt
Administrative Secretaries: Vanessa Vollebregt and Yasmin Heasman
RE Consultant: Angela Smith

Multi Academy Trust (MAT)

Head of Finance and Operations: Jill Scarfield

Are you interested in becoming a SIAMS Inspector?

The National Society is now taking applications.  For further details follow this link.

SIAMS Inspectors


Education Department
Diocesan Church House
211 New Church Road


Tel: 01273 425687
Fax: 01273 421041

Related resources

Find Your Local Church of England School

The Church of England's website has a facility to locate your nearest Church of England School